Using Nickel: Author Accounts

You've got your Nickel site up and running and looking like you want it to. Before we dive into adding content, let's get familiar with the account management features. This walk through is intended to give you a full tour of Nickel's author system from both the administrator and non-admin side. Following these instructions step-by-step will get you acquainted with the controls, and with the experience your registered visitors will have.

Nickel calls all user accounts "authors". It just sounds a little nicer than "users" and is apt given the nature of this application.

Update Profile

Your first order of business as the administrator of a new Nickel blog is to update your profile. Sign in and click "Update profile" from the account links. You'll notice there isn't much there. Nickel only keeps the bare minimum needed for a profile, since most people tend to maintain that information at the link they provide here. You can change your e-mail address and password. You may also enter a URL for a web site that people will go to when they click your name in articles and comments. If you have profile photos enabled, you may upload one here. It will automatically be resampled to the size you have specified in your settings.

Profile images are uploaded into the "uploads/profile" folder. The file is a JPEG which uses the GUID of the author for its filename. Once you have added a profile photo, a new line will appear in your "update profile" form. Updating with the "Delete profile photo" checked will delete the file from the system.

If you change your e-mail address while updating your profile when signed in as a non-administrator author, your account will be deactivated and you'll receive a new activation link. Administrators may change their e-mail address without reactivating.

Register

Now it's time to get an idea of what it's like to be on the other side. Click the "Sign out" link from the account links and then click "Register". Enter valid information for a different e-mail account (it's probably safe to assume you have more than one). Entering a name or e-mail address that is taken will return a warning that you need to choose something else. Choose and confirm a password then click the "Register" button. If everything clears, you'll get a confirmation message on screen and an e-mail in your inbox.

Activate

Before you check your e-mail to activate your account, you have an opportunity to check out a handy form that you'd probably never see otherwise. Try signing in with your new account information right now. You should get an error with a link to activate your account. Click the link. This will bring up a form where you can receive another activation notice. Enter your e-mail address and click "Send link". Note that this will only work for inactive accounts. Active or invalid accounts will receive an error.

Check your e-mail and follow the link in the message to activate your account. You should see a confirmation message, as well as receive a confirmation e-mail.

Forgot Password?

Sign out and click on the "Forgot password?" link. The form here is almost identical to the activation one. Just enter your e-mail address and click "Send password". Check your e-mail for your decrypted password. Note that the password is sent in plain text, so you'll want to delete the e-mail immediately, and maybe change your password just in case.

Creating Administrators

Sign back in with your administrator account. Click on the "Authors" link. You'll get a list of links to the profile update pages of all registered accounts. Click on the non-administrator account you just created. This will take you to the profile update page, just like the one you used to update your information, but you'll notice two new items. As an administrator editing someone else's account, you have the ability to make them an administrator or delete their account.

Check the "Administrator" box then click "Update" to make the user into an administrator. If you reload the page, you'll see the second name added to the authors list on the right (if you have author linking enabled in the settings). If you check e-mail for the other account, you'll find that the author has been notified of the upgrade.

Remove an Author

Open the author list again and click on the account you just modified. Check the "Delete" box. Click "Update" to remove the user. They will not be notified. If this author has written articles or comments, they will be wiped out. If you'd like to kick a user off the site, but retain their submissions, simply change their password and/or e-mail address.

Last edited Nov 11, 2010 at 9:50 PM by BanTheRewind, version 9

Comments

No comments yet.